Primary Curriculum

The Amity College primary curriculum follows the requirements of the Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards NSW (BOSTES) and is designed to: equip students with the necessary knowledge and skills to build a strong foundation for their learning give students a strong start in literacy through a range of intervention programs encourage each student to achieve at their highest level in a range of subjects develop academic, artistic, musical, naturalist and sporting intelligence equip each student with knowledge of a language other than English develop moral values and attitudes

BOSTES sets the learning requirements for each stage of primary school. The four stages are:

  1. Early Stage 1 (Kindergarten)
  2. Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2)
  3. Stage 2 (Years 3 and 4)
  4. Stage 3 (Years 5 and 6)

To ensure a smoother transition from primary to high school, the Year 6 curriculum is delivered by different teachers. This ensures that students are accustomed to the high school structure and the way in which the curriculum is delivered.

Students at Amity College participate in a wide variety of on-campus and inter-campus programs and competitions to provide opportunities for students to display their skills and talents. These include:

  • Spelling Bee
  • Debating Competition
  • Year 6 Sports Gala Day
  • HSIE Competition
  • Science Fair
  • Maths Fun Day
  • Book Character Parade
  • Athletics Carnival

A variety of incursions and excursions are also organised throughout the year to supplement and enhance student learning.

The school week is divided into 35 periods. There are 7 periods of 45 minutes per day.